Is more fabric.

Yep  I know, it sounds astounding.  And it constantly surprises my husband when I set out to start a project with “fabric from my stash”, and have to take a trip to the store to complete it.  But here’s the truth: I’ll often buy something that catches my eye.  Cute new precuts from Moda (and who ISN’T obsessed with new fabric from Moda?).  A new quilt pattern that I think will work with yardage I have at home.  Or something with baby animals on it, and OH MY GOSH I KNOW PEOPLE HAVING BABIES!  And then when you get your things out to try to come up with a complete project, you’re always missing something.  Yardage for sashing.  A pattern that actually works with the fabrics that you have.

DSC_1644[1]

So off to the store I go.  Today I went to Mill House Quilts in Waunakee, because some of the fabric I had was originally from there and I figured they would be the best bet for fleshing out what I needed.  And I am embarrassed to say that before last week, I had not been to this mecca of a fabric store.

Fabric was floor to head high, with colorful quilts hanging from the ceiling (that were incidentally very good at entertaining a cranky Gumball Baby I had with me). Fabric was arranged by type, and seemed to go on endlessly: reproduction, flannels, kids, seasonal, batiks, sale room… Thank goodness for the helpful staff there, who helped me sort out what I needed and where things were located.  Even in the midst of a sale and a line 4-5 people deep at the cutting counter, each with bolts upon bolts to cut.  I had to tear myself away from buying more, even as I was purchasing enough yardage to complete *ahem* three quilts.

DSC_1646[1]

A few scraps to finish a quilt already in progress- more on that one coming up.

DSC_1647[1]

Yardage for borders and background for a layer cake from last year’s quilt show.

DSC_1648[1]

Some plain old red and white to complete the fabric requirements for my son’s new twin quilt out of reproduction inspired fabrics.

Fall can now begin.

