Every year, Moda comes out with the most adorable and irresistible new fabric.  They cut it up into little sampler packs of Jelly rolls, Charm packs, Layer cakes, and tons of other pastry-themed same size cuts.  I have a growing collection in my quilting fabric bin.  Because I can always justify more themed fabric.

I decided that this year before the quilt expo coming up that I would need to either not bring any money along (are you laughing as hard as I am?), or I should really sew up some of the cuteness I already own.  A majority of my collection is kids fabric, and one set of charm packs in particular was really calling to me.  Sweet peaches, grays, teals, greens, and yellows on flannel.  Just perfect for a baby gift.

There are a ton of patterns available that take advantage of the sizes of the precuts, but honestly, a lot of them are quite boring.  I really liked how some of them took advantage of the precut squares, cut them on the diagonal, and made them into half square triangles.  Since I had two charm packs, I would have enough to make 4 HSTs out of each fabric (you often only get one or maaaaaybe two of each fabric in a charm pack).  Pinwheels seemed like an easy, yet more interesting and fun way to use them.

I bought all the rest of the fabric on my Mill House Quilts run a few weeks ago.  And a huge thank you to the math machine of a cutter I had, as I had not calculated my yardage beforehand.  What I ended up with (and what you’ll need if you want to make one with me):

Materials:

2 charm packs

1/4 yard of a light contrast or a print- used for the cornerstones between the sashing (trains)

1 3/4 yards of a neutral fabric- this will be the other half of all the pinwheels, so something that will contrast well to help the pattern stand out (gray herringbone)

1 yard of a contrast or a print- used for the outer border (teal plaid)

2 3/4 yards of darker fabric- used for the sashing, the first border, and also the binding (teal solid)

*I realized after doing some math that a layout of 6 across by 7 down would make it wide enough for a twin size bed, but not quite long enough.  So I ended up getting a few extra small cuts of prints from the collection that would allow me to make 48 blocks instead of 42, and make the final layout 6 across by 8 down.

Cutting:

My tools, and my sketchy hand drawn plan.
My tools, and my sketchy hand drawn plan.
  1. Cut the first neutral fabric, which will be the pinwheel halves, into 12 5″ strips across the width of fabric.  Subcut those into 5″ squares until you have 42, or 48 if you’d like to make a twin sized quilt.
  2. Cut the darker sashing fabric into 5 8.5″ strips across the width of fabric.  Then subcut those into 2.5″ strips until you have 77 pieces.

    Subcutting into 2.5
    Subcutting into 2.5″ strips.
  3. Continue with the same fabric, and cut 7 2.5″ strips across the width of fabric.  These will be the first outside border and will get cut to size later. (Yep, at this time you’ll have a bit of this fabric left.  It will get cut later into binding.)
  4. Cut the 1/4 yard print into 3 2.5″ strips across the width of fabric, then subcut into 2.5″ squares until you have 35 pieces.
  5. Cut the 1 yard of contrast into 9 4″ strips across the width of fabric. These will be outer border and will get cut to size later.

And now is the point when I realize I have just bought large pieces of fabric, only to cut it up into 5 million teeny tiny pieces that I have to put back together.

IMG_7963

Eeeeek!

