Remember back about six years ago when everyone was crazy about retro aprons? I made a bunch that year for Christmas presents, along with this one for myself.  It was printed in pieces directly onto the fabric, so you could literally just cut and go, no pattern required. The fabric store also had matching blue and a border print on clearance, so I bought enough for a tablecloth. That I never made.

Fast forward to now, where I find myself wishing for something fun and cheery to replace our wipe clean Xmas tablecloth in the eat-in kitchen. Dug to the bottom of one of my quilting cotton bins, pulled out both pieces, and took some measurements.

img_0945Materials:

Around 5 yards of 45″ wide fabric or 2.25 yards of 60″ fabric.

Some contrast fabric if you want.

That’s it. 

Start by measuring the table you’re working with. If it has leaves, you can measure and decide if you’re planning on using them with this tablecloth or not. I’m planning on using mine as an all purpose, every day cloth, so I left it shorter than the formal dining table fully extended. Hang a measuring tape off the sides to find your preferred drop length, I like around 10-15″. My tablecloths range from 60 x 80 to 70 x 90, and I opted for this to end up around 65 x 90.

image1
This was printed very straight on grain, so I was able to cut on the pattern and make the seams fall right on the diagonal lines.

If using 60″ wide fabric, you literally just cut it to the length you want and hem. If using 45″, you’ll end up with a seam down the middle. I chose to put in a band of the contrast down the center to look like a design element and not just a seam.  Stitch, serge, and press to one side and top stitch so it won’t get funny in the wash.

Mitred corners.  I cut the tiny exposed square of raw edge off before I sew.

I chose a double 1/2″ hem for a bit more stability than a rolled hem, and I mitred the inside corners for a cleaner finish.  Press both hems in. Unfold, and press a triangle wedge in at the point where the folds intersect. Refold the hems. You can cut out a wedge where the extra bit sticks out if you’d like, and slip stitch the corner together. Top stitch the hems all the way around, and boom. Done.

img_0959

Anyone ready for a barbeque? We already had the grill running this week  in the unseasonably warm weather. Once I make the remaining scraps into some new potholders to replace the old crusty ones, this house will be open for another season of pies, ribs, and friends.

img_0963Love from Wisco,

Rebekah

