I have this pattern.  It’s another Oliver + S.  (Big surprise.) I’ve made it for my daughter every year at least once, so she has quite a wardrobe of the same dress.  She loves it so very much, from its easy to wear style, no zipper to catch in her hair, to the pockets for collecting all her trinkets.  It’s become a pattern I don’t have to think about, I can just forge ahead and whip it out quickly.  I was preparing to make her a new version for summer, and I just thought if she loves it this much, the little girls in your life probably will too.

DSC_2046
Simple single button closure at the back neck.

If you’ve been wanting me to take you step by step through a pattern project, here’s your chance!  Run over to Oliver + S and grab a copy of the Ice Cream Social dress.  (It’s no longer available in a paper format, only digital download.)   I’ll be hosting a sew-a-long right here over the next few weeks, and the best part is that it will always be here for you to jump in, whenever you want to make it.

The details:

I’ll be making view A, which is the dress length with pockets and a faced lower band. Views B and C are very similar throughout most of the steps, so very easy to still follow along!

Monday, June 13: I’ll talk about all the supplies you’ll need, fabrics, notions, etc., and give you a week to go shopping.

Monday, June 20: Cutting!

Thursday, June 23: Making the button loop and the yoke.

Monday, June 27: The body of the dress and attaching to the yoke.

Thursday June 30: Attaching the lower bands and finishing work.

It’s a dress that usually takes me two nights after kids bedtimes to complete, so very doable in a few steps a day.  I actually took these photos last fall and intended to blog about how fast and easy it is, and then the big move happened.  I really hope you make one with me and post pictures!

DSC_1991
Miss Cakes in last fall’s version at the petting zoo.

See you soon!

Rebekah

 

 

 

