The blouse is done! And seriously, this might be my favorite version yet. Not to mention I loved having a bit of handwork back to do while sitting on the couch.  My grandma taught me to embroider and sew by hand when I was just a bit older than Miss Cakes, and it warms my heart to bring a bit of that detail into a piece.  When unpacking from the move, I found a box of her transfer patterns from the 1940’s through the 1970’s, and I’ve been itching to start using them.  The yoke on this dress is a perfect place to add a bit of embellishment, especially when I found a print that so closely resembles one of the patterns.

Here are the changes I made from how the pattern is written:

Embroidery

Obviously not in the original pattern, I used an iron transfer onto the outer yoke after I cut it out but before sewing it to anything.  No interfacing, just plain linen.  I worked the embroidery in stem stitch, daisy chain stitch, french knots, satin stitching, and a bit of backstitching for outline.  Most was worked in 3 strands of a single color, but the inside of the kitty fur was worked with 2 strands, one each of purple and pink at the same time, to get the color I wanted.IMG_2890

Prepare the Yoke

Step 3: Prep the inside yoke with the seam allowances pressed back 1/2″ instead of the outside yoke. Keep the button loop basted to the outer yoke however. DSC_3482

I also chose to understitch the neckline, just to keep the linen in place and provide an extra row of security where the seam allowance has been trimmed closely since the linen is a fairly loose weave.DSC_3484

Continue on as instructed with the regular instructions.

Attaching yoke to dress

Step 2:  When you pin the pieces together, pin the right side of the dress pieces to the right side of the outer yoke, as you would do in most traditional sewing orders.DSC_3486

Step 3:  Stitch seam at 1/2″.

Step 4:  Press the seam allowances to the yoke.  Instead of edgestitching from the front as instructed, you can either roll the back yoke down to cover the seam line, pin in place, and stitch in the ditch from the front.  Or as I did here, meet the fold line up to the seam line and hand sew in place.  I used a slipstitch, taking a 1/4″ bite out alternately from the yoke piece and the blouse body piece just inside the seam line.DSC_3487

Repeat for the back.

I love how this gives a clean finish, where edgestitching or topstitching would detract from the embroidery. DSC_3493

I am so in love with this version, I don’t know why I haven’t made the blouse version before!  Definitely a misstep on my part.  Consider it on my list for next summer.  Now to pick a shorts pattern to go with it…..

I hope everyone had a happy Fourth!  Fun times in the summertime.

DSC_3527

Love from Wisco,

Rebekah and Miss Cakes

Also in this series:  Sew-Along Announcement

Sew-Along Day 1:  Materials

Sew-Along Day 2:  Cutting

Sew-Along Day 3:  Loop, Yoke, and Pockets

Sew-Along Day 4:  Dress panels and attaching to yoke

Sew-Along Day 5:  Lower bands and button

