Whoa!  Has it been a year already since I started writing?  My official anniversary was August 22, and in the hustle and bustle of cookouts and back to school time I completely blew right past it!  I was making my morning coffee thinking about the Wisconsin Quilt Expo this weekend, and how I knew for sure I posted about it last year, and it was certainly not my first post.  Double checked the dates, and whoops!  Ah well, at least I didn’t have to buy myself a present.  Or maybe I should….

image2

I thought it would be fun to reflect on what I’ve made, what I’ve posted about (or not posted about), and what you like reading about.  I’ve made a quilt, pants, skirts, a dress, lots of clothes for Miss Cakes.  Some skill building posts covered hems, measurements, mending knits, cutting, and the ice cream dress sew-along.  And some more reflective posts about personal style and starting anew.  (And some odds and ends posts that just struck my fancy to write about at the time.)  What, my dear readers, did you enjoy?  What was helpful?  What was inspiring?  What would you like to see more of?

image1

There were also a ton of projects that just didn’t make it to the keyboard- alterations on formals, two custom flower girl dresses, hemming mens pants into shorts, a few baby carriers (which I would strongly encourage you to buy a well researched pattern that has been tested and vetted for materials sourcing, good feedback, and support about proper stitching, should you choose to attempt one), a middle of the night impulse Tshirt sew, chugging along on some long term projects like sweaters and quilts, window treatments for the new house, and more I’m probably forgetting.  Sometimes I’m sewing so quickly I don’t have time to post about it, sometimes I don’t take any pictures in the process, and sometimes I’m just not sure it would be an interesting read.

DSC_3993
Books currently on the table for inspiration and perusal.  And sketching.

I know I bounce around a lot to a variety of topics, and as a suspected ENFP, I’m guessing that’s just par for the course.  While I mainly hope to recount what I’m actually working on in my life (which will continue to be as sporadic as always), I do want what I write about to be of some value to you.  So with that in mind, let me know if there are any topics you’re hoping to learn about, projects you like seeing, a little less conversation/a little more action, whatever’s on your mind.  Post here in the comments or on the link on my Facebook page (and go ahead and “like” the page while you’re there please!), subscribe to get new posts delivered straight to your inbox from WordPress, and I’ll pick someone randomly and send you a small thank you gift.  I love and appreciate all the support you’ve given me, and hope you’ll continue to share in my creative journey.

DSC_4004

And now for a recipe. Because who doesn’t like recipes? I was introduced over the summer to Bulletproof coffee, which is some of the best coffee I’ve ever had (no affiliation). I played around a bit with what I like to add for taste and for how I feel, as I was eating on the Whole 30 program to deal with some food sensitivities.  While I don’t keep Bulletproof brand beans on hand, I now find myself making my coffee this way in the mornings because it’s far superior to my old Kcup with a dash of creamer.  Plus it makes me feel like I’ve gotten a fancy cafe coffee drink and somehow magically stayed at home watching my kids play in our pajamas.  Here’s what I’ve started drinking as we step closer to fall.

Bulletproof-esque pumpkin spice latte

Ingredients:

1 cup of your favorite morning joe

1/2-1 tsp ghee

1 TBSP coconut milk (in the can, not the milk substitute kind in a box)

2 tsp pumpkin purée, unsweetened

Dash of vanilla extract (optional, not allowed on W30)

Dash of cinnamon

Sweetener if you like (not allowed on W30)


Measure out and plop everything into a food processor or blender. I use my baby food maker because it’s a small bowl and always out on the counter. I don’t measure meticulously, I just use a regular spoon and start around these quantities. Play around to find how you like it. If I’m using sweetener, I like natural ones- and a splash of pure maple syrup pairs excellently with the pumpkin.

Pumpkin Spice Latte blending

This is why we combine it in a blender or food processor, and not straight in your cup. Pulse or blend until nice and frothy.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

Pour into your favorite mug and enjoy!  Fall coffee in a cup, with some good fats to keep your brain fed and your energy level going until lunch.

Happy fall and I hope to hear from you!

 

DSC_3773

Love from Wisco,

Rebekah (and as always, Miss Cakes)

